CraZy 4 KatZ? U Betcha!

Yes, I’m passionate about cats!

Does that make me a crazy cat lady? I don’t think so. I’m happily married—no children, just 3 cats. I am not a cat hoarder, 3 is enough, thank you very much. But, I do have this unusual and profound relationship with these most beautiful of all creatures.

This relationship, which some might call an obsession, has always been a part of me. Even when I was a baby, my little hand grabbed out, reaching for that passing feline. Why do we like what we like anyway? I think this thing for cats is just part of my DNA!

Maybe there are paw prints embedded into my DNA, because life orbiting around cats started very early. When I was about four, my first kitty love was Tiger, a husky male shelter cat. Tiger’s feline presence became the CATalyst, setting into motion a human/feline physic bond, which unfolded into years of kittens and cats in my life (probably about fifteen, and counting). At one point I realize my sense of being was glued to cats, so life without a cat was not an option! And besides, my cat was never just a cat, my cat was much more.

And how much these cats added!, enriching my journey; from little girl, to adolescent, and then, to busy adult.

A CAT had been a close friend; when I had none. In particular, during those pre-adolescent years in rural California, when summers seemed to go on and on. I would dress him up in handmade attire and sing to him while he lounged. And every now and then he would open an eye, to show me he was still paying attention.

A CAT was my lover; when my lover was absent. She knew when I was lonely or sad, and would place her warm and purring body on my chest, while gazing reassuringly into my eyes.

A CAT, that ancient creature, was my first sage; initiating me into the realms of mysticism with: a cat is just a cat and that is that! Oh my guru, my cat, set me onto the path of spiritual awakening! Another gem from my cat guru: just this and just now. This one enabled me later to take up the teaching of the Buddha. And, saving the best for last, the wisest of all the teaching of all felines; do nothing, then rest afterwards!

A CAT has been my muse; when I began painting in earnest. When I was a young artist I struggled for a direction, a theme in my art. In an epiphany, I knew I had to paint what I loved the most, and she was sitting right near me, my beloved cat!

And now, to the present, a trio of loves: Ebi, Luna, and Gaia!

And it so happens to be at this time, Gaia has offered up his specialness with . . .

A CAT enabling me to refocus; when I was adrift. And I was adrift. Then Gaia magically offered up his ultra soft hair. His hair soon became an essential part of my fledging jewelry endeavor. It had the effect of reconnecting me, a second time, with two things I love dearly: making art and loving cats, resulting into a new form: cat hair jewelry!

Gaia guarding the “pearls


2 thoughts on “CraZy 4 KatZ? U Betcha!

Leave a Reply

