Kitty LUV

YES, I love my cat, I LOVE my cats. This neck sculpture expresses love!

I could not sleep one night recently because of Gaia. He has this BAD BOY but endearing habit of wanting to play at 3 am, when I should be in REM sleep. This does not happen every night, but this particular night he was more riled up than usual, and there wasn’t even a full moon! Anyway, even after a little play, a bit of food, and excommunicating him from the bedroom, I could not go back to sleep.

What to do? Use the time to visualized cat hair jewelry! My creative juices got going, resulting in this piece as well as a few others.

A most interesting idea came to mind, at this darkest time of night: bend the neck wire in half. Bending, what I normally keep round, would allow the caged cat hair pendant to hang asymmetrically. When I got to the studio, all was going as I envisioned, until I got to the point of caging the cat hair between the two pieces of chicken wire. As I was matting and felting the cat hair, my fingers began to form the hair from a mass into a heart.

A heart of cat hair! Of course! a symbol of pure love from a cat-aholic!

Gaia LUV

> ‘ ‘ <

4 thoughts on “Kitty LUV

    • >”< Thank you! He is mostly solid white. He also has salmon ears and a "meringue" colored back. And, I never thought I would have a "white" cat, he was just the cutest baby, I could not resist!

Leave a Reply

