The Grooming Session

Gaia enjoys being brushed. 

Not every cat takes to the brush. Some will swat the brush. With others, you cannot even come near with a brush, they see it and run. Or, you can brush the head, chest and back, BUT do not touch my underbelly and stay away from my HINEY!

Gaia, on the other hand, more than tolerates our grooming sessions. Maybe because he loves to groom himself. Or, could it be, he has what I refer to as “the Orange Gene,” a highly friendly and calm quality found in cats with orange hair?

Yet, every two weeks I brush out his undercoat and go on matt patrol. I love grooming Gaia. I do this on the bed, a favorite spot of his, where it is easy for him to lie on his back with legs spread, allowing me access to that soft belly hair. This is a mutual project. As I groom him, he grooms himself as well as grooms my hand, when it is near his raspy tongue.

And what wonderfully soft and silky hair! which is set aside for future jewelry projects.

Count Down . . . 51 Days . . . until Must Love Cats on  April 7th !

After the grooming session

A mound of wispy, soft hair


Leave a Reply

