A “Pearly White” Christmas Commission

A friend of mine, who also happens to be an excellent artist, commissioned a necklace using cat hair. What follows is the discussion I had with her before I proceeded with making the necklace.

Me: Do you want the cat hair necklace to include some leather/metal in the design?

Her: No. Just make one using cat hair as large white “pearls.”

Me: How about adding an asymmetrical focal point in the front?

Her: No. Just make it look like a string of white pearls.

Me: Can I ask why?

Her: I want people to think it is a pearl necklace, and then be surprised or shocked that they are not pearls but “pearls” made from cat hair.

A small basket of Gaia hair

HELP GAIA!!  I was going to need a lot of hair for this project, probably 28 “pearls”. I began three weeks before Thanksgiving. (She originally wanted to wear it while she was in New York for Thanksgiving.) That was out of the question! I got into grooming mode. Once a week I groomed Gaia, then rolled the hair into tight cat hair pearls.

Two months later… finally! I had enough of those “pearls” to wire a necklace!

Gaia guarding the “pearls”

And the finished necklace— packed up and ready to be worn on Christmas eve!

2 thoughts on “A “Pearly White” Christmas Commission

    • It is soft, especially if the cat is a Persian or RagaMuffin! I have a friend who collected mounds of hair from her Persian, enough to make a scarf, a small purse, and a small throw pillow, from JUST one of her favorite cat’s hair!

Leave a Reply

