I wear a work of art, not jewelry

I started making jewelry in 2008. Talking about my art or trying to explain what it looked like is always difficult without a picture (pre ipod Touch). After endless frustrating conversations, I made a piece of jewelry as an example. It then became the visual intro into a discussion about the art.

I saw the jewelry as microsculptures and I began making more.

Brass Rhumbam 2008

The economy was bad then and still is bad now. Instead of selling larger works of art I sell my jewelry. But that is OK because they are microsculptures and I enjoy making them.

There is a show At the Museum of Arts and Design in New York called Picasso to Koons: The Artist as Jeweler. On from September to January 2012.

Iris Eichenberg Untitled (Brooch from the Weiss series) 2005

Claire Falkenstein Untitled (Ring) c. 1955

Leave a Reply

